Earthbound by King Crimson

Although much derided, this has blood and guts glory

Nigelleaney
5 min readApr 5, 2023

Earthbound, with it’s sombre black cover, is King Crimson’s unwanted child. Robert Fripp (the King in Crimson) spent many years trying to delete the album from further release. Yet it has never gone away. Demand has only increased with the passing of years. Nick Cave once described his vinyl copy as one of his most treasured possessions. So I’m in good company. On music websites you will find this album rated with either one star or five. Nothing in between. No half measures. It’s a love or hate thing. Marmite, anyone?

I bought my first copy in the summer of 1973 during a school trip to France. I was about to leave the world of desks and chalk dust and go out into the wider world and I was intoxicated by the thought of my imminent freedom. To celebrate, my mates and I decided to steal a few records — as you do. The record shops in England only allowed you to flick through the album covers out on display. There was no record inside. If you wished to make a purchase you had to take the album cover to the counter where the assistant would find the appropriate vinyl in exchange for your cash. The French were more trusting. The vinyl remained inside the album sleeves out on display. Big mistake…

--

--

Nigelleaney

Recently retired and completed MA in creative writing. Trying for the writer’s life with no more excuses about the day job. Named top writer in music.